Mini-symposium: New frontiers in super-resolution microscopy using MINFLUX @ Heidelberg

Apr 4, 2022

Internationales Wissenschaftsforum Heidelberg (IWH)
Heidelberg, Germany

General Description
Localizing molecules at the nanoscale within living cells in 3D and tracking them over time is essential for understanding the structure of molecular machines, identifying molecular interactions and cell function. In 2017, the team of Nobel Laureate Stefan Hell invented a new light microscopy technique called MINFLUX, which has recently been commercialized. The MINFLUX light microscope technique is a breakthrough advance over the already established super-high resolution light microscopy techniques, and allows a resolution of ˜2 nm in 3D, thus closing the gap between light and electron microscopy.
Heidelberg University will acquire a MINFLUX system in 2022 via the REACT-EU programme of the European Union and the state of Baden-Württemberg. A unique resource of MINFLUX microscopy is thus soon available in Heidelberg.

The mini-symposium is intended to bring together researchers from the Heidelberg/Mannheim area who are interested in the imaging technology itself and also who have research questions that would strongly benefit from the best possible super-resolution light microscopy. We hope to unleash synergies between the users of the MINFLUX technique and to enable new collaborative projects that will advance our science. The event will provide ample opportunities for researchers to present their ideas and to discuss possible projects and collaborations.

Please note that attendance space is limited and that applicants may undergo a selection process based on their research background and the number of applicants from the same lab. The organizers will try to accommodate as many interested registrants as possible.

Organizing Committee
  • Dr. Ulrike Engel (Heidelberg University)
  • Prof. Dr. Freddy Frischknecht (Heidelberg University)
  • Prof. Dr. Andres Jäschke (Heidelberg University)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Kuner (Heidelberg University)
  • Dr. Andrea Leibfried (Heidelberg University)
  • Dr. Holger Lorenz (Heidelberg University)
  • Prof. Dr. Elmar Schiebel (Heidelberg University)

Organized by
Heidelberg University *** This symposium is kindly supported by Abberior Instruments GmbH ***